skip general nav links ACHP home About ACHP


National Historic

Working with
Section 106

Federal, State, & Tribal Programs

Training & Education


 skip specific nav links
Home arrowNews
Preserve America Communities Total 521

As of July 31, the number of designated Preserve America Communities is 521. All states and the U.S. Virgin Islands are now represented with Preserve America Communities. Mrs. Laura Bush sent a letter of congratulations to the 20 newest communities which now include several large cities.

The 20 new communities are the following: St. George Island, Alaska; Little Italy, San Diego, California; Savannah, Georgia; Letcher County, Kentucky; Mt. Vernon, Kentucky; New Orleans, Louisiana; Ferndale, Michigan; Carver, Minnesota; Baldwyn, Mississippi; Las Vegas, Nevada; Dutchess County, New York; Ossining, New York; New Bern, North Carolina; Shelby, North Carolina; Canal Winchester, Ohio; Ponca City, Oklahoma; Horry County, South Carolina; Blount County, Tennessee; Columbia, Tennessee; and Bradford, Vermont.

Posted October 14, 2007

Return to Top