skip general nav links ACHP home About ACHP


National Historic

Working with
Section 106

Federal, State, & Tribal Programs

Training & Education


 skip specific nav links
Home arrowNews arrowHistoric Preservation Caucus Sponsors Preserve America Community Designation Event
Historic Preservation Caucus Sponsors Preserve America Community Designation Event

The Historic Preservation Caucus of the U.S. House of Representatives joined with Preserve America to announce the designations of 20 new Preserve America Communities March 18, 2004.

The event was held on Capitol Hill at the Rayburn House Office Building in Washington, DC. Historic Preservation Caucus co-chairs Brad Miller, North Carolina Representative, and Michael Turner, Ohio Representative, hosted the event with Lynn Scarlett, Department of the Interior (DOI) Assistant Secretary of Policy, Management, and Budget, and John Nau, Advisory Council on Historic Preservation chairman.

Representatives from the 20 newly designated communities were on hand to accept their certificates.Representatives from the 20 designated communities were on hand to accept certificates. These new Preserve America Communities are:

  • Biloxi, Hattiesburg, Pascagoula, and Port Gibson (Mississippi)
  • Bristol, Cranston, and Warren (Rhode Island)
  • Burlington (Vermont)
  • Cheyenne (Wyoming)
  • Douglas, Grand Rapids, and Saugatuck (Michigan)
  • Fort Myers (Florida)
  • Franklin (Tennessee)
  • Fresno (California)
  • Rock Island (Illinois)
  • Smithfield and Williamsburg (Virginia)
  • Virginia City (Montana)
  • White Mountain Apache Tribe (Arizona)

On March 20, 2004, a Preserve America Community designation ceremony was held in Augusta, Georgia, at the Augusta Canal National Heritage Area Interpretive Center. The event, which honored six Georgia communities, was hosted by Augusta mayor and ACHP member Bob Young, with DOI Secretary Gale Norton presenting the designations. A new Preserve America Community sign was unveiled at the event.

The new Georgia Preserve America Communities are:

  • Kennesaw
  • Macon
  • Madison
  • Monticello
  • Rome
  • Whitfield County

For more information on the Preserve America communities, visit the Preserve America Web site.

About the Preserve America Community Program

The Preserve America Community program recognizes and designates communities that protect and celebrate their heritage, use their historic assets for economic development and community revitalization, and encourage people to experience and appreciate local historic resources through education and heritage tourism programs.

Preserve America, a White House initiative, encourages and supports community efforts for the preservation and enjoyment of our priceless cultural and natural heritage. The goals of the initiative include: a greater shared knowledge about the Nation's past, strengthened regional identities and local pride, increased local participation in preserving the country's cultural and natural heritage assets, and support for the economic vitality of our communities.

For more information, visit

An independent Federal agency, the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP) promotes historic preservation nationally by providing a forum for influencing Federal activities, programs, and policies that impact historic properties, advising the President and Congress, advocating preservation policy, improving Federal preservation programs, protecting historic properties, and educating stakeholders and the public. For more information, visit the ACHP's Web site at, or contact Bruce Milhans at 202-606-8513 or

Learn more about ACHP

Posted March 29, 2004

Return to Top