skip general nav links ACHP home About ACHP


National Historic

Working with
Section 106

Federal, State, & Tribal Programs

Training & Education


 skip specific nav links
Home arrowNews arrowMrs. Laura Bush Announces New Preserve America Neighborhood Designation Program
Mrs. Laura Bush Announces New Preserve America Neighborhood Designation Program

For more information, contact Bruce Milhans  (202-606-8513)
Mrs. Bush and ACHP Chairman John L. Nau, III,  sit under the Preserve America logo. (White House photo by Krisanne Johnson)
Laura Bush announced the new Preserve America Neighborhoods program at East Literature Magnet School in Nashville, Tennessee, July 26, 2005. Seated with Mrs. Bush is ACHP Chairman John L. Nau, III. (White House photo by Krisanne Johnson)

July 26, 2005, Nashville, TN—Mrs. Laura Bush, honorary chair of Preserve America, today announced details of a key new component of the Administration's Preserve America initiative: the Preserve America Community Neighborhood designation.

"Preserve America promotes education, historic preservation and economic development as it encourages greater appreciation of our national treasures," Mrs. Bush said. "President Bush and I want every American, especially our children, to discover and learn about our Nation's heritage."

Representatives from Federal agencies that are partners in the White House initiative included Secretary Alphonso Jackson, Department of Housing and Urban Development; Assistant Secretary Lynn Scarlett, Department of the Interior; and Chairman John L. Nau, III, Advisory Council on Historic Preservation.

The announcement was made at the East Literature Magnet School in historic East Nashville. Nashville has 47 neighborhoods recognized by the Mayor's Office of Neighborhoods, several with active historic preservation and heritage tourism efforts that would meet the criteria for the new Preserve America Community Neighborhood program.

The Preserve America Community program was initiated January 15, 2004, when Mrs. Bush designated the first eight communities at a White House ceremony. Since then, the effort has grown to include 261 communities in 43 States.

Because larger metropolitan areas, such as Nashville, tend to have distinct historic neighborhoods that are essentially communities within larger urban areas, the program has been expanded to include neighborhood eligibility for metropolitan areas with populations greater than 200,000 persons. There are approximately 90 such metropolitan areas in the United States.

Preserve America is a White House initiative that encourages and supports community efforts to preserve and enjoy our priceless cultural and natural heritage. The goals of the initiative include a greater shared knowledge about the Nation's past, strengthened regional identities and local pride, increased local participation in preserving the country's cultural and natural heritage assets, and support for the economic vitality of our communities.

For more information on the Preserve America Community Neighborhood program, including criteria and the application, visit

Learn more about the ACHP

Posted July 29, 2005

Return to Top