skip general nav links ACHP home About ACHP


National Historic

Working with
Section 106

Federal, State, & Tribal Programs

Training & Education


 skip specific nav links
Home arrowPreserve America arrowPreserve America Presidential Award
Preserve America Presidential Award

Each year, President and Mrs. Bush bestow four Preserve America Presidential Awards—two for projects that advance heritage tourism and two for exemplary privately funded historic preservation projects or programs.

Preserve America Presidential Awards honor organizations, businesses, government entities, and individuals for:

  • Exemplary accomplishments in the sustainable use and preservation of cultural or natural heritage assets;

  • Demonstrated commitment to the protection and interpretation of America's cultural or natural heritage assets, and the integration of these assets into contemporary community life; and

  • Innovative, creative, and responsible approaches to showcasing historic resources in their communities.

The second annual Preserve America Presidential Awards were presented at a White House ceremony May 2, 2005. The awardees were The Mount, in Lenox, Massachusetts; the Texas Heritage Trails Program; the Bolduc Historic Properties-Operational Enhancement in Sainte Genevieve, Missouri; and the Isaiah Davenport House Museum in Savannah, Georgia. [Read more about the 2005 awardees]

More information on Preserve America and the Presidential Award application form can be found at or by calling 202-606-8503. E-mail questions can be directed to

The White House is working to implement Preserve America with the Advisory Council on Historic Preservation and the U.S. Departments of Agriculture, Commerce, Housing and Urban Development, Interior, and Transportation.

Updated May 2, 2005

Return to Top